Commissions - A MAJOR LIFT!

Our inaugural A Major Lift was fully subscribed in 2019. Thanks to the generosity of our donors, ‘A Major Lift’ raised $32,250 of which $2,000 has been put aside to kick start A Major Lift 2020.

2020 Major Lift target

A Major Lift is a new donor circle to raise money each year to commission Australian composers to write music that will premiere at the Canberra International Music Festival.

Becoming A Major Lifter gives you the opportunity to contribute to the creation of new music and then experience a world premiere performance. And afterwards, you, and your fellow Major Lifters, will feel the joy of clinking champagne glasses with a newly-premiered composer, knowing that their music came to life because of your support.

You can find more information on A Major Lift here (download pdf).

Our inaugural A Major Lift campaign in 2019 received a Creative Partnerships Plus1 ‘matched funds’ grant of $25,000. The Creative Partnership grant will fund the implementation of a customer relationships management system by the end of 2020.

Diverse Voices. The Festival is proud to commission diverse voices in composition including indigenous and female composers, both of whom are under-represented in contemporary art music. We also support and nurture the talents of the next generation of Australian artists, providing exciting opportunities for young composers to create new works. Further information about our commissioning policy can be found here.

The Festival has a long and proud history in commissioning new music so you can feel confident that your donation will be invested wisely. You can find out more about our history of commissioning here.

Our 'thank you' to donors. Donations to A Major Lift 2020 will be acknowledged in our 2020 Festival program. You, and fellow Major Lifters, will be invited to a special ‘Meet the Composer’ donor event. This will be a chance to meet the minds behind the music.

our 2019 major lifters

Rachel McCallum & Gavin Morrison

Heather McLoughlin

Lilian & Govert Mellink

Kate Morgan & Richard McHugh

Prof Ingrid Moses AO & Dr John Moses

Carolyn Philpot

Anna & Bob Prosser

Sarah Ross-Smith

Margaret & John Saboisky

Brenda & Mark Simkin

Irena Sprogis

Elsina Wainright and James Hooke

Mandy Westende

Allison Will & Jonathan Woodger

Margot Woods & Arn Sprogis

Anonymous (3)

Andrew Blanckensee

Robyn & Penleigh Boyd

Jennie & Barry Cameron

Frances & James Carter

Bev Clarke & Graham Chalker

Jean Dalton

Jennifer Dobbin

Catherine Hawkins & David Windsor

Judith Healy

Rosemary & Peter Ingle

Margaret & Peter Janssens

Maria Kwiatkowska & David Hawkins

Marjorie Lindenmayer

Gabrielle Lewis & Damien O'Donovan